Food and Nutrition in Credo: Books

By providing an up-to-date and visually appealing understanding of important issues around global food and agriculture, The Atlas of Food maps out broad areas of investigation--contamination of food and water, overnutrition, micronutrient deficiency, processing, farming, and trade--to offer a concise overview of today's food and farming concerns.

Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.

Based on Barron's popular and authoritative The New Food Lover's Companion, this enlarged and enhanced new reference volume was written for discerning home chefs and everybody else who wants to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining. The updated version includes an introduction, quotes, tip boxes, information on basic techniques, tools and expanded glossaries that explain the many variations of apples, sausages, cheeses and so on.

Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.

First published in 1983, John Mariani's Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time the Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

A-to-Z entries describing foods, cooking techniques, herbs, spices, desserts, wines, and the ingredients for pleasurable dining.

QA Internationals Food and Cooking series provides a valuable overview through a series of videos and animations of modern nutrition, with contributions from experts in the field.

The Visual Guides series answers the most important questions on topics that fascinate everyone through a series of videos and animations: weather, the human body, the Earth, the universe and plants. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in these areas.

Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.

Nutrition for Life has been designed to help you to think seriously about your diet and lifestyle in an easy and enjoyable way. Whether you are single, married, have young or older children, are healthy, or suffer from a chronic medical condition, you will gain short-term and long-term health benefits from reading this guide and by putting into effect the advice it contains.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet.

The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 - 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.

Arranged alphabetically, this guide contains comprehensive definitions for wine related terms.

Covers the terms used in wine production, and describes grape varieties, wine regions and wine-growers around the world, wine styles and tasting terms. Because wine-producing is a science as well as a craft, it explains the basic chemistry that can make or mar a great wine.