Grants
Grants
I found it Online!
NMSU Grants Library
505-287-6638
Students, faculty, and researchers are increasingly utilizing electronic resources in preparing research papers and projects. Those electronic resources can include internet web pages, electronic books, articles, journals, photos, videos, graphics, encyclopedias, and other publications; online databases, FTP (file transfer protocol) files, and many more.
Whenever any of those resources are utilized, they must be cited and attributed individually, just as they would be for print resources.
At this time, no one method of citing electronic resources has been agreed upon. Even with the most popular citation styles, authors of electronic style guides, and committees of educators, a citation standard for electronic resources is still evolving.
Reference formats from the most widely used guides are included below to assist you with citing material you obtain from electronic resources.
MLA Guidelines for Citations of Electronic Sources – Including Online Databases
MLA now encourages the use of citing containers such as Youtube, JSTOR, Spotify, or Netflix in order to easily access and verify sources. However, MLA only requires the www. address, so eliminate all https:// when citing URLs.If a DOI (digital object identifier)is available, cite the DOI instead of the URL.
Basic Style for Citations of Electronic Sources (Including Online Databases)
Here are some common features you should try to find before citing electronic sources in MLA style. Not every Web page will provide all of the following information. However, collect as much of the following information as possible both for your citations and for your research notes:
Use the following format:
Author. Title. Title of container (self contained if book), Other contributors (translators or editors), Version (edition), Number (vol. and/or no.), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages, paragraphs and/or URL, DOI or permalink). 2nd container’s title, Other contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication date, Location, Date of Access (if applicable).
Felluga, Dino. Guide to Literary and Critical Theory. Purdue U, 28 Nov. 2003, www.cla.purdue.edu/english/theory/. Accessed 10 May 2006.
(Source: MLA Handbook. 8th edition. 2016)
(Source: www.owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style.html)
How do I reference a Photograph, Painting, or Graphic Illustration in MLA?
Provide the artist's name, the work of art italicized, the date of creation, the institution and city where the work is housed. Follow this initial entry with the name of the Website in italics, and the date of access.
Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Museo Nacional del Prado, Madrid. Museo Nacional del Prado, www.museodelprado.es/en/the-collection/art-work/the-family-of-carlos-iv/f47898fc-aa1c-48f6-a779-71759e417e74. Accessed 22 May 2006.
Klee, Paul. Twittering Machine. 1922. Museum of Modern Art, New York. The Artchive, www.artchive.com/artchive/K/klee/twittering_machine.jpg.html. Accessed May 2006.
If the work is cited on the web only, then provide the name of the artist, the title of the work, and then follow the citation format for a website. If the work is posted via a username, use that username for the author.
Adams, Clifton R. “People Relax Beside a Swimming Pool at a Country Estate Near Phoenix, Arizona, 1928.” Found, National Geographic Creative, 2 June 2016, natgeofound.tumblr.com/.
(Source: MLA Handbook. 8th edition. 2016)
How do I reference a Tweet in MLA?
@tombrokaw. "SC demonstrated why all the debates are the engines of this campaign." Twitter, 22 Jan. 2012, 3:06 a.m., twitter.com/tombrokaw/status/160996868971704320.
(Source: MLA Handbook. 8th edition. 2016)
How do I reference a YouTube Video in MLA?
Video and audio sources are to be documented using the same basic guidelines for citing print sources in MLA style. Include as much information as possible.
McGonigal, Jane. “Gaming and Productivity.” YouTube, uploaded by Big Think, 3 July 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.
(Source: MLA Handbook. 8th edition. 2016)
How do I cite email in MLA?
When you document an email in your list of works cited, use the subject of the message as the title. The title should be capitalized and in quotation marks.
Boyle, Anthony T. “Re: Utopia.” Received by Daniel J. Cahill, 21 June 1997.
(Source: MLA Handbook. 8th edition. 2016)
What is a DOI?
A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is a unique alphanumeric string used to identify content and provides a persistent link to its location on the Internet. When a DOI is available, include the DOI instead of the URL or database name in the reference. Place the DOI at the end of the reference.
Stultz, J. (2006). Integrating exposure therapy and analytic therapy in trauma treatment. American Journal of Orthopsychiatry, 76(4), 482-488. doi:10.1037/002-9432.76.4.482
(Source: http://www.apastyle.org/learn/faqs/what-is-doi.aspx)
APA Guidelines for Citations of Electronic Resources
How do I reference an image from Pinterest?
Pinterest is a pin-board style photo-sharing website. To reference an image from this website give the name of the author (i.e. the person who pinned the image) in the form of surname and initials, but also
give their first name in square brackets. For the title give the name of the image, followed by a description of the format in square brackets.
Earnhart,H. [Hallie]. (n.d.). Long bob [Pinterest post]. Retrieved March 22, 2013, from http://pinterest.com/pin/255790453808141636
In-text: (Earnhart, n.d.)
(Source: APA Style Expert, personal communication, March 27, 2013) (www.apastyle.org)
How do I reference personal photographs?
If you are using personal photographs in your work you do not need to reference them. They will be assumed to be your own work unless you state otherwise. However you would still caption the photograph with Figure #, and the name of the photograph.
Figure 1. Jumping in puddles
(Source: http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2010/04/theres-an-art-to-it.html) (www.apastyle.org)
How do I reference personal photographs from private pages on Facebook?
Content from private or friends-only Facebook pages or profiles is not retrievable by everyone and should be treated as a personal communication.
Figure 1. Jumping in puddles (B. Smith, personal communication, June 22, 2013)
(Source: http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2010/03/how
-to-cite-facebook-fan-pages-group-pages-and-profile-information.html) (www.apastyle.org)
How do I reference a YouTube Video in APA?
Video and audio sources are to be documented using the same basic guidelines for citing print sources in APA style. Include as much information as possible.
McGonigal, Jane. “Gaming and Productivity.” YouTube, uploaded by Big Think, 3 July 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkdzy9bWW3E.
How do I reference a smartphone app?
To reference a mobile app use this format:
Rightsholder, A. A. (year). Title of Software or Program (Version number) [Mobile application software].
Retrieved from http://xxxxx
Skyscape. (2013). Skyscape Medical Resources (Version 1.17.42) [Mobile application software].
Retrieved from http://itunes.apple.com
For the year, give the year that version of the software was released.
If the app is a reference work such as a dictionary or encyclopedia begin your reference with the title of the entry followed by the year that version of the software was released, followed by the details of the software.
Diabetes. (2013). In Epocrates Essentials for Apple iOS (Version 5.1) [Mobile application software].
Retrieved from http://www.epocrates.com/mobile/iphone/essentials
(Source: http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/2013/03/how-to-cite-a-mobile-app.html)
How do I reference Twitter in APA?
If the user’s real name is known, provide it first in the format Author, A. A., followed by the screen name in brackets. If only the screen name is known, provide it without brackets.
Obama, B. [BarackObama]. (2009, July 15). Launched American Graduation Initiative to help additional 5 mill. Americans graduate college by 2020: http://bit.ly/gcTX7 [Tweet]. Retrieved from http://twitter.com/BarackObama /status/2651151366
In-text: (Obama, 2009)
(Source: American Psychological Association. (2012). APA style guide to electronic references. Washington, DC: Author. p 33)
How do I reference Facebook in APA?
For individual authors on Facebook, provide the name in the
format Author, A. A., and then include the author’s first name in brackets. For organizations or groups, spell out the full name.
For dates that cannot be determined, use n.d. (for no date). If the date can reasonably be approximated, put ca. (for circa ) followed by the year, inside brackets. Include a retrieval date only when the date is unknown or has been approximated.
For multiple entries with the same author and date, alphabetize the entries by title and add a letter after the year (2011a, 2011b; n.d.-a, n.d.-b; or [ca. 2011a], [ca. 2011b]).
Pinker, S. [Steven]. (n.d.). Timeline [Facebook page]. Retrieved March 19, 2012, from http:// www.facebook.com/pages/Steven-Pinker/266872782418
Federal Emergency Management Agency. [ca. 2011]. Fire safety [Facebook page]. Retrieved April 17, 2011, from https://www.facebook.com/FEMA?sk = app_10442206389
American Red Cross. (2009, November 2). Red Cross workers in American Samoa: 2 stories [Facebook note]. Retrieved from http://www.facebook.com /note.php?note_id = 178265261423
In text, use the following citations: (Pinker, n.d.), (Federal Emergency Management Agency, [ca. 2011]), and (American Red Cross, 2009).
(Source: American Psychological Association. (2012). APA style guide to electronic references. Washington, DC: Author. p 33)
When I reference something from the internet do I need to italicize the title? (APA)
Italicize the titles of reports and other documents that stand alone. If it is unclear use your own judgment to decide whether to italicize. Err on the side of not italicizing.
(Source: American Psychological Association. (2012). APA style guide to electronic references. Washington, DC: Author. p 32)
How do I reference website material that has no author, no year, and no page numbers?
Because the material does not include page numbers, you can include any of the following in the text to cite a direct quotation:
A paragraph number, if provided; alternatively, count the paragraphs down from the beginning of the document.
An overarching section heading plus a paragraph number within that section.
A short title in quotation marks in cases where the heading is too long to cite in full.
Because there is no date and no author, your in-text citation would include the title (or short title), n.d. for no date, and paragraph number (e.g., “Heuristic,” n.d., para. 1). The entry in the reference list might look like this:
Heuristic. (n.d.). In Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary (11th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.m-w.com/dictionary/heuristic
(Sources: http://www.apastyle.org/learn/faqs/cite-website-material.aspx; American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association
(6th ed.) Washington, DC: Author, pp. 171-172)
Icons utilized:
ShareIcon.net (n.d.) Retrieved from https://www.shareicon.net/