Grants
Grants
HOW TO FIND THE LIBRARY’S BOOKS
NMSU Grants Library
505-287-6639
The NMSU–Grants Library uses the Library of Congress (LC) system [called LC call numbers, a combination of letters and numbers] to organize all of the different library materials.
The Library of Congress Classification System (LC)
How to read call numbers in an academic library
Libraries use classification systems to organize the books on the shelves. A classification system uses letters and/or numbers (call numbers) to arrange the books so that books on the same topic are together. This arrangement results in "serendipitous browsing:" you find one book in the catalog, go to the shelf, and, an perhaps an even better book is sitting right next to it.
From the Online Catalog to the Shelf
Libraries in the United States generally use either the Library of Congress Classification System (LC) or the Dewey Decimal Classification System to organize their books. Most academic libraries use LC, and most public libraries and K-12 school libraries use Dewey.
Anatomy of a Library of Congress Call Number
Book Title: Uncensored War: The Media and Vietnam
Author: Daniel C. Hallin
Call Number: DS559.46 .H35 1986
The first two lines describe the subject of the book.
DS559.45 = Vietnamese Conflict
The third line often represents the author's last name.
H = Hallin
The last line represents the date of publication.
Tips for Finding Books on the Shelf
Read call numbers line by line.
LB
Read the first line in alphabetical order:
A, B, BF, C, D... L, LA, LB, LC, M, ML...
2395
Read the second line as a whole number:
1, 2, 3, 45, 100, 101, 1000, 2000, 2430...
.C65
The third line is a combination of a letter and numbers. Read the letter alphabetically. Read the number as a decimal, eg:
.C65 = .65 .C724 = .724
Some call numbers have more than one combination letter-number line.
1991
The last line is the year the book was published. Read in chronological order:
1985, 1991, 1992...
Here is a shelf of books with the call number order explained.
Source: Anatomy of a Library of Congress Call Number - University of Georgia
Still need help? Ask at the Circulation desk.
Academic Libraries
Library of Congress Classification Table
|
A - General Works |
|
|
AC |
Collections, Series, Collected works |
|
AE |
Encyclopedias |
|
AG |
Dictionaries, Reference |
|
AI |
Indexes |
|
AM |
Museums |
|
AS |
Societies, Academies |
|
AZ |
General history of scholarship and learning |
|
B – Philosophy, Psychology, Religion: |
|
|
BC |
Logic |
|
B-BD |
Philosophy |
|
BF 1-990 |
Psychology |
|
BF 1001-2055 |
Parapsychology & Occult |
|
BL-BX |
Religion |
|
C – History: Auxiliary Branches |
|
|
CB |
History of Civilization |
|
CC |
Archaeology |
|
CS |
Genealogy |
|
CT |
Biography (general |
|
D – History: General & Europe: |
|
|
D |
History (General) |
|
DA |
Great Britain |
|
DC |
France |
|
DD |
Germany |
|
DP |
Spain - Portugal |
|
DS |
Asia |
|
DT |
Africa |
|
E & F – History: New World |
|
|
E 1-50 |
Americas |
|
E 51-99 |
Pre-Columbian & Indians |
|
E 101 |
United States (general) |
|
F 1-975 |
United States (local) |
|
F 1001-1170 |
Canada |
|
F 1201-3799 |
Latin America |
|
G – Geography, Environment, Anthropology & Recreation |
|
|
G 1-922 |
Geography (general) |
|
G 1000 |
Atlases & Maps |
|
GB |
Physical Geography |
|
GE |
Environment |
|
GF |
Human Ecology |
|
GN |
Anthropology |
|
GR |
Folklore |
|
GT |
Manners & Customs |
|
GV |
Dance, Leisure, Physical Education & Recreation |
|
H – Business and Social Sciences |
|
|
HA |
Statistics |
|
HB-HC |
Economics |
|
HD |
Management |
|
HE |
Transportation & Communications |
|
HF |
Business, Commerce, & Marketing |
|
HG |
Finance & Corporate Information |
|
HJ |
Accounting & Tax |
|
HM |
Sociology (general) |
|
HN |
Social History |
|
HQ |
Marriage & the Family, Women’s Studies |
|
HT |
Communities |
|
HV |
Social Work & Criminology |
|
J – Political Science |
|
|
JC |
Political Theory |
|
JF-JQ |
Constitutional History |
|
JS |
Local Government |
|
JV |
Colonization, Emigration & Immigration |
|
JZ |
International Relations |
|
K – Law |
|
|
KF |
Law of the United States |
|
KG |
Law of Latin America |
|
L – Education |
|
|
LA |
History of Education |
|
LB |
Theory & Practice |
|
LC |
Social Aspects |
|
LD-LG |
Universities, Colleges, & Schools |
|
M – Music |
|
|
M |
Printed Music (scores) |
|
ML |
Literature of Music |
|
MT |
Instruction & Study |
|
N – Fine Arts |
|
|
N |
Visual Arts (general) |
|
NA |
Architecture |
|
NB |
Sculpture |
|
NC |
Drawing, Design, & Illustration |
|
ND |
Painting |
|
NE |
Print Media |
|
NK |
Decorative & Applied Arts |
|
NX |
Art (general) |
|
P – Language & Literature |
|
|
P |
Linguistics & Communications |
|
PA |
Classical Languages & Literature |
|
PC |
Romance Languages |
|
PD-PF |
Germanic Languages |
|
PE |
English Language |
|
PJ |
Oriental Languages & Literatures |
|
PM |
American Indian Languages |
|
PN |
Literary History & Journalism |
|
PQ |
Romance Literatures |
|
PR |
English Literature |
|
PS |
American Literature |
|
PT |
German Literature |
|
PZ |
Children’s Literature |
|
Q – Science |
|
|
Q |
Science (general) |
|
QA |
Mathematics |
|
QA 75-76 |
Computers & Software |
|
QB |
Astronomy |
|
QC |
Physics |
|
QD |
Chemistry |
|
QE |
Geology |
|
QH |
Biology, Genetics, & Molecular Biology |
|
QK |
Botany |
|
QL |
Zoology |
|
QM |
Human Anatomy |
|
QP |
Physiology |
|
QR |
Microbiology & Virology |
|
R – Medicine |
|
|
R |
Medicine (general) |
|
RA |
Public Health |
|
RC |
Practice of Medicine & Psychiatry |
|
RJ |
Pediatrics |
|
RM |
Nutrition & Pharmacology |
|
RS |
Alternative Medicine |
|
S – Agriculture |
|
|
SF |
Animal Production |
|
SH |
Aquaculture & fisheries |
|
SK |
Wildlife Management |
|
T – Engineering & Technology |
|
|
T |
Technology (general) & Computer |
|
TA |
Materials, Design, & Surveying |
|
TC |
Hydraulic Engineering |
|
TD |
Environmental Engineering |
|
TE |
Highway Engineering |
|
TH |
Building Construction |
|
TJ |
Mechanical Engineering |
|
TK |
Electrical & Nuclear Engineering |
|
TL |
Aeronautics & Motor Vehicles |
|
TN |
Mining Engineering & Metallurgy |
|
TP |
Chemical Technology |
|
TR |
Photography |
|
TS |
Manufacturing |
|
TT |
Clothing Manufacture & Handicrafts |
|
TX |
Home Economics, Hotels, & Food Service |
|
U – Military Sciences |
|
|
V – Naval Sciences |
|
|
Z – Library Science, Bibliography, Information Resources |
|
Special Location for Materials
|
Historical Collections / Special Collections |
Special Collections Room |
|
Grants / Milan Mining Documents |
Special Collections Room |
|
Maps / Atlases |
Special Collections Room |
|
Oversized Books |
Stack #10 – according to assigned call number |
|
Reference |
Main Floor |
|
Reserves |
Behind Circulation Desk |
|
New Mexico State Documents (J87 .N6) |
Main Floor – Reference Area |
|
Audio Books |
Stack #10 – according to assigned call number |
|
Graphic Novels |
Stack #10 – according to assigned call number |